Forensic Gadgeteer

Murders at Karlov Manor

Forensic Gadgeteer
  • Mana cost: {2}{U}
  • Price USD: $1.92 (foil: $7.16)
  • CMC: 3
  • Price EUR: €0.00 (foil: €0.00)
  • Type: Creature
  • TIX: 0.14
  • Subtype: Vedalken Artificer Detective
  • Edhrec Rank: 9944
  • Rarity: Rare
  • Other info: Foil and Not Foil
  • Versions: Murders at Karlov ManorMurders at Karlov ManorMurders at Karlov Manor PromosMurders at Karlov Manor Promos
 Other cards in this SET 
(2/3)
Whenever you cast an artifact spell, investigate. (Create a Clue token. It's an artifact with "{2}, Sacrifice this artifact: Draw a card.")
Activated abilities of artifacts you control cost {1} less to activate. This effect can't reduce the mana in that cost to less than one mana.

Formats restrictions

Standard Legal Modern Legal
Vintage Legal Legacy Legal
Commander Legal Brawl Legal
Pauper Not legal Future Legal
Penny Not legal Duel Legal
Oldschool Not legal

Rulings

02-02-2024
wotc
Some abilities trigger “whenever you sacrifice a Clue”. Those abilities trigger whenever you sacrifice a Clue for any reason, not just to activate a Clue’s activated ability.
02-02-2024
wotc
If an effect refers to a Clue, it means any Clue artifact, not just a Clue artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Wrench to pay for Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth’s activated ability.
02-02-2024
wotc
Forensic Gadgeteer’s last ability affects only abilities of artifacts you control on the battlefield. The costs of activated abilities of artifact cards that work in other zones, such as cycling, won’t be reduced.
02-02-2024
wotc
Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keywords are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected by the cost reduction ability of Forensic Gadgeteer.
02-02-2024
wotc
You can’t sacrifice a Clue to pay multiple costs. For example, you can’t sacrifice a Clue token to activate its own ability and also to activate Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth’s ability.
02-02-2024
wotc
Some spells and abilities that investigate may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won’t resolve. You won’t create any Clue tokens.
02-02-2024
wotc
Clue is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some cards with other permanent types, it’s never a creature type, a land type, or anything but an artifact type.

Price trend

 
02-23-2024 $1.45 €0.00
02-22-2024 $1.48 €0.00
02-21-2024 $1.48 €0.00
02-20-2024 $1.64 €0.00
02-19-2024 $1.64 €0.00
02-18-2024 $1.51 €0.00
02-17-2024 $1.63 €0.00
02-16-2024 $1.51 €0.00
02-15-2024 $1.41 €0.00
02-14-2024 $1.44 €0.00
02-13-2024 $1.44 €0.00
02-12-2024 $1.27 €0.00
02-11-2024 $1.17 €0.00
02-10-2024 $1.26 €0.00
02-09-2024 $1.48 €0.00
02-08-2024 $1.47 €0.00
02-07-2024 $1.73 €0.00
02-06-2024 $1.68 €0.00
02-05-2024 $1.74 €0.00
02-04-2024 $2.17 €0.00
02-03-2024 $3.01 €0.00
02-02-2024 $3.25 €0.00
02-01-2024 $3.57 €0.00
01-31-2024 $3.57 €0.00
01-30-2024 $4.00 €0.00
01-29-2024 $0.00 €0.00
01-28-2024 $0.00 €0.00
01-27-2024 $0.00 €0.00
01-26-2024 $0.00 €0.00
01-25-2024 $0.00 €0.00