Evidence Examiner

Murders at Karlov Manor

Evidence Examiner
  • Mana cost: {G}{U}
  • Price USD: $0.08 (foil: $0.16)
  • CMC: 2
  • Price EUR: €0.06 (foil: €0.16)
  • Type: Creature
  • TIX: 0.01
  • Subtype: Merfolk Detective
  • Edhrec Rank: 23653
  • Rarity: Uncommon
  • Other info: Foil and Not Foil
  • Versions: Murders at Karlov Manor
 Other cards in this SET 
(2/2)
At the beginning of combat on your turn, you may collect evidence 4. (Exile cards with total mana value 4 or greater from your graveyard.)
Whenever you collect evidence, investigate. (Create a Clue token. It's an artifact with "{2}, Sacrifice this artifact: Draw a card.")

Formats restrictions

Standard Legal Modern Legal
Vintage Legal Legacy Legal
Commander Legal Brawl Legal
Pauper Not legal Future Legal
Penny Legal Duel Legal
Oldschool Not legal

Rulings

02-02-2024
wotc
You can’t sacrifice a Clue to pay multiple costs. For example, you can’t sacrifice a Clue token to activate its own ability and also to activate Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth’s ability.
02-02-2024
wotc
Clue is an artifact type. Even though it appears on some cards with other permanent types, it’s never a creature type, a land type, or anything but an artifact type.
02-02-2024
wotc
If you can’t exile enough cards to meet or exceed the required mana value, you can’t choose to collect evidence at all.
02-02-2024
wotc
Some spells and abilities that investigate may require targets. If each target chosen is an illegal target as that spell or ability tries to resolve, it won’t resolve. You won’t create any Clue tokens.
02-02-2024
wotc
If an effect refers to a Clue, it means any Clue artifact, not just a Clue artifact token. For example, you can sacrifice Wrench to pay for Alquist Proft, Master Sleuth’s activated ability.
02-02-2024
wotc
Once you’ve announced that you’re casting a spell, players can’t take actions until you’ve finished doing so. Notably, opponents can’t try to remove cards from your graveyard to stop you from collecting evidence.
02-02-2024
wotc
Evidence Examiner’s last ability triggers whenever you collect evidence for any reason, not just when you collect evidence with its first ability.
02-02-2024
wotc
Some abilities trigger “whenever you sacrifice a Clue”. Those abilities trigger whenever you sacrifice a Clue for any reason, not just to activate a Clue’s activated ability.

Price trend

 
03-04-2024 $0.03 €0.05
03-03-2024 $0.04 €0.04
03-02-2024 $0.04 €0.04
03-01-2024 $0.04 €0.04
02-29-2024 $0.05 €0.05
02-28-2024 $0.05 €0.05
02-27-2024 $0.05 €0.05
02-26-2024 $0.04 €0.05
02-25-2024 $0.04 €0.06
02-24-2024 $0.04 €0.06
02-23-2024 $0.04 €0.07
02-22-2024 $0.04 €0.06
02-21-2024 $0.04 €0.06
02-20-2024 $0.04 €0.05
02-19-2024 $0.04 €0.05
02-18-2024 $0.04 €0.05
02-17-2024 $0.04 €0.06
02-16-2024 $0.04 €0.07
02-15-2024 $0.05 €0.06
02-14-2024 $0.05 €0.06
02-13-2024 $0.05 €0.06
02-12-2024 $0.06 €0.06
02-11-2024 $0.06 €0.06
02-10-2024 $0.08 €0.06
02-09-2024 $0.15 €0.06
02-08-2024 $0.18 €0.10
02-07-2024 $0.18 €0.10
02-06-2024 $0.21 €0.10
02-05-2024 $0.21 €0.13
02-04-2024 $0.26 €0.13