Case of the Burning Masks

Murders at Karlov Manor

Case of the Burning Masks
  • Mana cost: {1}{R}{R}
  • Price USD: $0.06 (foil: $0.14)
  • CMC: 3
  • Price EUR: €0.02 (foil: €0.15)
  • Type: Enchantment
  • TIX: 0.01
  • Subtype: Case
  • Edhrec Rank: 24796
  • Rarity: Uncommon
  • Other info: Foil and Not Foil
  • Versions: Murders at Karlov Manor
 Other cards in this SET 
When this Case enters the battlefield, it deals 3 damage to target creature an opponent controls.
To solve — Three or more sources you controlled dealt damage this turn. (If unsolved, solve at the beginning of your end step.)
Solved — Sacrifice this Case: Exile the top three cards of your library. Choose one of them. You may play that card this turn.

Formats restrictions

Standard Legal Modern Legal
Vintage Legal Legacy Legal
Commander Legal Brawl Legal
Pauper Not legal Future Legal
Penny Legal Duel Legal
Oldschool Not legal

Rulings

02-02-2024
wotc
Being solved is not part of a permanent’s copiable values. A permanent that becomes a copy of a solved Case is not solved. A solved Case that somehow becomes a copy of a different Case stays solved.
02-02-2024
wotc
Cases don’t lose their other abilities when they become solved.
02-02-2024
wotc
Each Case has two special keyword abilities: to solve and solved.
02-02-2024
wotc
Once a Case becomes solved, it stays solved until it leaves the battlefield.
02-02-2024
wotc
Activated and triggered abilities are not themselves sources of damage. The source of an activated ability is the object whose ability was activated, and the source of a triggered ability (other than a delayed triggered ability) is the object whose ability triggered.
02-02-2024
wotc
A permanent that deals damage multiple times without changing zones still counts as only one source. For example, if you attack with Incinerator of the Guilty and deal combat damage with it, use its triggered ability to deal damage, and then use Hard-Hitting Question to have it deal damage to another creature, it’s still just one source even though it dealt damage three times during the turn.
02-02-2024
wotc
“To solve” abilities will check for their condition twice: once when the ability would trigger, and once when it resolves. If the condition isn’t true at the beginning of your end step, the ability won’t trigger at all. If the condition isn’t true when the ability resolves, the Case won’t become solved.
02-02-2024
wotc
“Solved — [static ability]” means “As long as this Case is solved, [static ability].” Static abilities are written as statements, such as “Creatures you control get +1/+1” or “Instant and sorcery spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.”
02-02-2024
wotc
Something that changes zones becomes a new object in that zone and will therefore be a new source. For example, if you cast Flametongue Kavu, deal damage with its enters-the-battlefield ability, exile and return it to the battlefield with Momentary Blink, deal damage again, then cast Momentary Blink with flashback on Flametongue Kavu to repeat the process one more time, you’ve fulfilled Case of the Burning Masks’s “to solve” trigger condition. 
02-02-2024
wotc
The meaning of “solved” differs based on what type of ability follows it. “Solved — [activated ability]” means “[Activated ability]. Activate only if this Case is solved.” Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].”
02-02-2024
wotc
You pay all costs and follow all normal timing rules for the card played from exile with Case of the Burning Masks’s last ability. For example, if the exiled card is a land card, you may play it only during your main phase while the stack is empty.
02-02-2024
wotc
You need to control the sources that dealt damage only at the times when they dealt damage. If they die or change control after that point, the “to solve” ability will still trigger at the beginning of your end step as long as you still control Case of the Burning Masks.
02-02-2024
wotc
“Solved — [Triggered ability]” means “[Triggered ability]. This ability triggers only if this Case is solved.” Triggered abilities use the word “when,” “whenever,” or “at.” They’re often written as “[Trigger condition], [effect].”
02-02-2024
wotc
If multiple creatures you control deal combat damage, each one counts as a source that dealt damage that turn. A single creature that deals combat damage multiple times in a turn (due to double strike or additional combats) still counts as only one source.
02-02-2024
wotc
“To Solve — [condition]” means “At the beginning of your end step, if [condition] and this Case is not solved, it becomes solved.”

Price trend

 
03-04-2024 $0.03 €0.03
03-03-2024 $0.03 €0.02
03-02-2024 $0.03 €0.02
03-01-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-29-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-28-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-27-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-26-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-25-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-24-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-23-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-22-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-21-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-20-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-19-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-18-2024 $0.02 €0.02
02-17-2024 $0.02 €0.02
02-16-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-15-2024 $0.03 €0.02
02-14-2024 $0.04 €0.02
02-13-2024 $0.04 €0.02
02-12-2024 $0.06 €0.02
02-11-2024 $0.06 €0.02
02-10-2024 $0.09 €0.02
02-09-2024 $0.14 €0.02
02-08-2024 $0.15 €0.02
02-07-2024 $0.15 €0.02
02-06-2024 $0.16 €0.02
02-05-2024 $0.16 €0.05
02-04-2024 $0.19 €0.05